UtahRails.net

(This page printed from UtahRails.net, Copyright 2000-2016 Don Strack)

Salt Lake Mining Review

Index For This Page

(Return to Mining Index page)

Overview

The Salt Lake Mining Review, also called "The Mining Review", was begun in 1899 by Will C. Higgins, formerly the mining editor of the Salt Lake Herald newspaper for three years.

Examined during the period of 1981 to 1983 while the complete collection was in Science & Technology circulating stacks on first floor of University of Utah, Marriott Library. The entire collection moved to Marriott Library, Special Collections sometime between 1983 and 1988.

The entire collection has been digitized, and is now available at the web site of the Utah Digital Newspapers Project.

This is an index only, and is not intended to provide complete information. Those issues with the citation only were found not to have information useful at the time of examination.

When a day of the week was cited ("last Tuesday") in an article or a news item, the exact day of the event was identified with a generic perpetual calendar, and is shown in italics.

Dates of Examination

Volumes 1 to 4 examined from November 25, 1981 to December 6, 1981. Volume 1, to number 17, re-examined on May 4, 1988 to August 1, 1989.

Volumes 5 to Volume 7, number 4 examined on May 13 and May 31, 1982.

Volume 7, number 5 to 24 examined on October 1 to 7, 1982.

Volume 8 examined on December 14, 1981 and January 20, 1982.

Volume 9 to Volume 18 examined on October 7 to December 6, 1982.

Volume 19 examined December 9, 1982, March 28 and 30, 1983, May 2, 1983, and September 29, 1983.

Volume 20 examined on July 21, 1983, August 5, 1983, August 11, 1983, September 29, 1983, and October 11, 1983.

Volumes 21 to 26 not examined.

Volume 27 examined on September 29 and 30, 1982.

Volume 28 examined on November 8, 1983.

Volume 1 (1899/1900)

Old Jordan, Galena, Niagara, and Old Telegraph mines sold to Maine investors "but a few days ago". Organized as the United States Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 1, April 15, 1899, p.7)

Highland Boy mine sold to Standard Oil interests. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 1, April 15, 1899, p.7)

Highland Boy was building a smelter on the Jordan River. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 1, April 15, 1899, p.9)

Nebo Brown Stone Company incorporated "last Saturday" (April 6, 1899). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 1, April 15, 1899, p.13)

Jesse Knight and C. E. Loose of Provo acquired title to the Northern Spy mine "yesterday" (April 29, 1899). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 2, April 30, 1899, p.14, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

American Smelting & Refining Company incorporated on May 1, 1899. Holdings in Utah included the Germania, Pennsylvania, Hanauer, and Ibex smelters. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 3, May 15, 1899, p.7)

Highland Boy smelter began operations "a week ago". The smelter was located on fifty-six acres, about one and a half miles southwest of Murray. The smelter was served by spurs of both the RGW and the OSL. Construction began on August 11, 1898. Ore was delivered in bottom discharge cars. Capacity of the smelter was 250 tons of crude ore per day. An article on the smelter appeared in the "last" issue of Engineering & Mining Journal magazine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.5)

The crane for Telluride Power Company's new Provo Canyon plant was forty-four feet long and was cast at the Silver Brothers Iron Works in Salt Lake City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.10)

Four borax wagons drawn by thirteen mules and nine horses arrived at Winnemucca from Rose Valley, Harney County, Oregon, hauling sixteen tons of borax. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.10)

James W. Neill was general superintendent of United States Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.11, "Personal Mention")

The Tesora mine in Tintic went into production "last week". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.12, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Dalton & Lark began pumping out the flooded levels yesterday, using new pumps and newly rebuilt boilers. They had found good copper values below the water level. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 4, May 30, 1899, p.13, "Bingham Bulletin Notes")

United States Mining Company's Old Telegraph smelter was located at West Jordan. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 5, June 15, 1899, p.6)

Article about Boston Consolidated in a "recent" issue of Engineering & Mining Journal. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 5, June 15, 1899, p.12)

Article about the Centennial-Eureka mine at Tintic, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 5, June 15, 1899, pp.5,8)

Article about United States Mining Company, with photographs. United States Mining Company was organized by the United States Oil "crowd". The Old Jordan & Galena was still in development. The United States mine took in Highland and Bear gulches, which were both branches of the main Bingham Canyon. The property was on 750 acres, from the west ridge between Salt Lake and Tooele counties, then east about two and a half miles, about a half mile wide. The oldest claim was the Old Jordan claim, about 200 feet wide and 5,200 feet long. All ores were transported to Bingham by a three mile long horse tramway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 6, June 30, 1899, p.5,8)

Samuel Newhouse answered an article about Boston Consolidated in Engineering & Mining Journal in the Salt Lake Tribune "a few days ago". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 6, June 30, 1899, p.6)

Samuel McIntyre bought out William McIntyre's interest in the Mammoth mine for $250,000.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 6, June 30, 1899, p.7)

Enos A. Wall purchased the site for a smelter, for the De LaMar-Wall copper mine at Bingham. The site was located about six miles east of Garfield beach, on the Utah & Nevada Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 6, June 30, 1899, p.13)

Bingham Copper & Gold Mining Company was to build a new smelter. The smelter was to be built by J. A. Coran and modeled after the new Highland Boy smelter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 7, July 15, 1899, p.14)

The Petro mine was developed about "seven or eight years ago". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 8, July 30, 1899, p.7)

A. F. Holden was the managing director of United States Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 8, July 30, 1899, p.11, "Personal Mention")

The Hanauer smelter was still in operation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 8, July 30, 1899, p.11, "Personal Mention")

United States Mining Company was to begin construction of a new smelter soon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 8, July 30, 1899, p.13, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

United States Mining Company bought the Centennial-Eureka on Tuesday August 1, 1899. The Centennial-Eureka was producing silicious ores needed to compliment the fluxing ores from the United States' mines in Bingham Canyon. The Centennial-Eureka was originally located as the Blue Rock claim in 1876, and was producing gold, silver and copper ores. United States Mining then had mines "productive of different classes and grades of ores...and is now in shape to build its proposed 500-ton smelter" to be situated on the Jordan River west of Bingham Junction. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 9, August 15, 1899, p.7)

The new Mammoth mill in Bingham was the first application of electricity to mines or mills in Bingham, receiving its power from "the Jordan Narrows Company". The 150-ton mill went into operation on August 1, 1899. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 9, August 15, 1899, p.9)

The Germania smelter began using electric power converted from steam "about the first of the month". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 9, August 15, 1899, p.10, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

County Clerk Robert Howard, County Attorney Hoffman and Sheriff Allred have located 2,500 acres of coal lands in Nine Mile Canyon. Samples show coal as excellent for coking. Veins were four to five feet and six to ten feet thick. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 9, August 15, 1899, p.12, "Mining Brevities")

A. F. Holden was manager of the Centennial-Eureka. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 10, August 30, 1899, p.10, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

The Baltimore Tunnel & Mining Company was organized to drive a 9,000 foot tunnel from Carr Fork to Pine Canyon. Work was to begin in the fall. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 10, August 30, 1899, p.12, "Mining Brevities")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 11, September 15, 1899)

The RGW was to begin regular train service on the new Provo Branch "tomorrow" (September 31, 1899). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 12, September 30, 1899, p.13, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

The Highland Boy mine began systematic development about "two years ago". The smelter started up in May 1899. The mine used a bucket tramway, which delivered about 6,000 tons per month. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 13, October 15, 1899, p.5)

S. H. Martin was surveying for an electric railroad to be built to connect the producing mines in Bingham Canyon with the RGW Bingham terminus. The line could possibly be built to Salt Lake City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 13, October 15, 1899, p.7)

The Germania smelter, part of American Smelting & Refining Company, along with the Mingo smelter, had just blown in a new section, making seven stacks at the plant. The two smelters together processed 21,000 tons of ore per month. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 13, October 15, 1899, p.11, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

(Article about the Daly West mine in Park City in Engineering & Mining Journal, October 14, 1899.)

Article about Dalton-Lark mine. Original claims were the Brooklyn and Old Lead Mine claims, closed in about 1891-1892 due to the silver slump. Dalton & Lark Gold, Silver & Lead Mining & Milling Company was incorporated "hardly five years ago". The claim included 155 acres, on sixteen different previous claims, including the nine Brooklyn claims, three Lark claims, and four Keystone claims. The mine was closed due to water problems. The mine was connected with the RGW at Lead Mine by a horse tramway several miles in length. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 14, October 30, 1899, p.5)

The Centennial-Eureka signed a three-year, 2,000 tons per month contract with American Smelting & Refining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 14, October 30, 1899, p.8)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 15, November 15, 1899)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 16, November 30, 1899)

Dalton & Lark was shipping twenty-five to thirty tons per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 17, December 15, 1899, p.14, "Around The State")

Article about the Salt Lake & Mercur Railroad, with photographs. Grading began immediately after incorporation. The line was surveyed by C. D. Moore, who was currently the chief engineer for the Pacific & Idaho Northern Railroad. The Salt Lake & Mercur Railroad was completed on January 20, 1895. The railroad had ten miles of mainline from Fairfield to Mercur, which was seven miles as the crow flies. The summit was 1,984 feet above Fairfield. The average grade was four percent, with some as high as four and a half percent. The sharpest curve was forty-two degrees. The railroad had a single 20-ton locomotive when it was completed, with a second, 28-ton locomotive added on June 1, 1895. The railroad currently had four Shay locomotives, with one more on its way from the east. The railroad also had three passenger coaches, eight ore cars, with six new 20-ton steel ore cars to arrive "soon". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 18, December 30, 1899, pp.5,8)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 19, January 15, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 20, January 30, 1900)

News item about the annual report of the Mercur mine. John Dern, president, John Heinrich, vice president, E. H. Airis, secretary, George H. Dern, treasurer, Charles J. Devereaux, manager. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 21, February 15, 1900, p.11)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 22, February 28, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 23, March 15, 1900)

Article on Utah's railroads, mostly general comments. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 1, number 24, March 30, 1900, pp.5,8)

Volume 2 (1900/1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 1, April 15, 1900)

News item about J. A. Cunningham selling his interests in the Mammoth mine. 39,000 shares at $2.25 per share, total of $87,750.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 2, April 30, 1900, p.13)

(Article about Horn Silver mine in the April 28, 1900 issue of Mining & Scientific Press.)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 3, May 15, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 4, May 30, 1900)

Mention was made of the Mercur mine's interest in the Salt Lake & Mercur Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 5, June 15, 1900, p.7)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 6, June 30, 1900)

Samuel McIntyre offered to buy J. A. Cunningham's interest in the Mammoth Mine and the New East Tintic Railway. The offer was refused and the Mammoth mine commenced to survey and build a tramway to replace the New East Tintic Railway from the Mammoth Mine to the Mammoth Mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 7, July 15, 1900, p.7)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 8, July 30, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 9, August 15, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 10, August 30, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 11, September 15, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 12, September 30, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 13, October 15, 1900)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 14, October 30, 1900)

The RGW was to extend the Bingham Branch to the Old Jordan & Galena mine in Highland Gulch by using the old Old Jordan & Galena tramway after widening the track. The motive power was to be a Shay engine. The extension was to be built by J. G. Jacobs who also built the Salt Lake & Mercur. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 15, November 15, 1900, p.21, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Article on the Silver Brothers Iron Works foundry, located at 149 West North Temple, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 16, November 30, 1900, pp.5,6)

News item, from the Tintic Miner newspaper, about the sale of the New East Tintic Railway. The New East Tintic Railway was sold to the Oregon Short Line Railroad for $30,000.00 on "Tuesday" (December 11, 1900). RGW held an option under the names of A. E. Hyde and Jesse Fox. The option expired and OSL "snapped it up". J. H. Young, superintendent of the OSL, along with master mechanic Tollerton and roadmaster Dwier went to Robinson on Tuesday to examine the property and close the deal. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 17, December 15, 1900, p.13)

Small news item about Will L. Hall, former agent for the Salt Lake & Mercur accepting a similar position in Bingham for the "Gold Belt" company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, p.7)

Comparison of mine production in 1890 and in 1900. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, p.8)

"The Mines of Bingham Canyon, the Old Reliable", article on Bingham Canyon, with photograph. United States Mining Company was a consolidation of the Old Jordan & Galena, Niagara, and Old Telegraph mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.10,11)

"Bingham Copper & Gold Mining Company", article on Bingham Copper & Gold Mining Company mill at Bingham Junction, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.11,12)

Article on the Mercur District. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.12,13)

Article on Park City District, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.16,17)

News item, from the Beaver Blade newspaper, about a railroad through Beaver. There was an auxiliary company, called the Development Company, which had Thomas Kearns as president and Perry S. Heath as vice president. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, p.18)

Article on Tintic District. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.20,21)

"Coal Fields And Iron Deposits Of Utah", article on the coal fields and iron fields of Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 18, December 30, 1900, pp.23-26) (copied 10/24/82)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 19, January 15, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 20, January 30, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 21, February 15, 1901)

Empire Construction Company had been incorporated to build the railroad to Los Angeles. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 22, February 28, 1901, p.9)

News item, from the Bingham Bulletin newspaper for February 15, 101. The Copper Belt railroad began operation "yesterday" (February 14, 1901). Construction began in December 1900. The upper terminal was at the Bingham Copper & Gold Mining Company's mine. The railroad was three and a half miles long and had grades of six to seven percent. Article includes a poor photograph of a Copper Belt locomotive and a car. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 22, February 28, 1901, pp.11,12)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 23, March 15, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 2, number 24, March 30, 1901)

Volume 3 (1901/1902)

Obituary for R. C. Chambers. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 1, April 15, 1901, p.6)

The Utah & Pacific was mentioned as having been transferred to the UP/OSL/SP interests. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 1, April 15, 1901, p.10)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 2, April 30, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 3, May 15, 1901)

A news item announced that the Oregon Short Line had acquired the Salt Lake & Mercur Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 4, May 30, 1901, p.23)

A news item about Salt Lake County giving a franchise to Salt Lake City Street Railway to build to the Highland Boy smelter in Murray. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 4, May 30, 1901, p.23)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 5, June 15, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 6, June 30, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 7, July 15, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 8, July 30, 1901)

Article about the Jack Rabbit District in Nevada. There was a narrow gauge railroad between the Day mine and Pioche, with photograph of former Denver, Leadville & Gulf number 283 shown as the "Jackrabbit R.R. locomotive". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 9, August 15, 1901, pp.11-14,20)

Article about Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 9, August 15, 1901, p.17)

Nice advertisement for RGW/D&RG. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 9, August 15, 1901, p.28)

Article about Stockton District. Ophir Hill mine was shipping ore to Terminus on the Oregon Short Line, twelve miles away. The mine was owned by W. A. Clark. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 10, August 30, 1901, p.13)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 11, September 15, 1901)

News item about the grading for an electric railroad between the Dalton & Lark mine and Revere station on the RGW. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 12, September 30, 1901, p.26)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 13, October 15, 1901)

News item about a proposed Southern Pacific branch to Deep Creek, along with other possible railroads to serve that mining region. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 14, October 30, 1901, pp.16,17)

A. J. Orem (of Castle Valley Coal and the 'O' in Mohrland) was financially "interested" in the Red Wing mine in Bingham. W. V. Rice (of Castle Valley Coal and the 'R' in Mohrland) was financially "interested" in the Anchor mine in Park City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 15, November 15, 1901)

"One Of Our Largest Home Industries, The Coal Mines Of Carbon County, Utah", article about Carbon County coal mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 16, November 30, 1901, pp.11-14,19,20) (copied 10/21/94)

News item about Oregon Short Line extending its line from Robinson to the Star Consolidated mine in the Tintic District. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 17, December 15, 1901, p.24)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 18, December 30, 1901)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 19, January 15, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 20, January 30, 1902)

Article about Mercur mine and mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 21, February 15, 1902, pp.11-14)

Small article about Simon Bamberger's new railroad in Nevada, called the Nevada Midland Railroad, to run from a connection with the Nevada Central at Austin, to Tonapah, a distance of about 112 miles. Bamberger was also to take over the Nevada Central. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 22, February 28, 1902, p.18)

News item about Silver Brothers Iron Works foundry furnishing switches, frogs and crossings for the street railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 22, February 28, 1902, p.26)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 3, number 23, March 15, 1902)

(Volume 3, number 24 missing)

Volume 4 (1902/1903)

An article about the town of Stockton mentioned the construction of the Oregon Short Line Leamington Cut-off. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 1, April 15, 1902, p.4)

(Volume 4, number 2 missing)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 3, May 15, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 4, May 30, 1902)

(Volume 4, number 5 missing)

(Volume 4, number 6 missing)

News item about RGW freight rates for full carloads of ore between Bingham Canyon and valley smelters. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 7, July 15, 1902, p.31)

(Volume 4, number 8 missing)

An article about Alta mentioned railroad service to Little Cottonwood Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 9, August 15, 1902, pp.15-18)

News item about a railroad to be built into the region of Huntington Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 10, August 30, 1902, p.28)

(Volume 4, number 11 missing)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 12, September 30, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 13, October 15, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 14, October 30, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 15, November 15, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 16, November 30, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 17, December 15, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 18, December 30, 1902)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 19, January 15, 1903)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 20, January 30, 1903)

(Volume 4, number 21 missing)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 22, February 28, 1903)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 23, March 15, 1903)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 4, number 24, March 30, 1903)

Volume 5 (1903/1904)

News item about a marble quarry near Vernal. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 1, April 15, 1903, p.20)

News item about the iron in Iron County. RGW was preparing to build into the iron fields from Marysvale, including seventy miles of railroad to be constructed "this year". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 1, April 15, 1903, p.25)

News item about the first train on the Leamington Cut-off from Terminus to Stockton, on "Monday of this week" (April 13, 1903). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 1, April 15, 1903, p.35)

Press release of the SPLA&SL purchase of the OSL portion south of Salt Lake City. (See also the Salt Lake Herald, Sunday April 18, 1903) (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 2, April 30, 1903, p.25)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 3, May 15, 1903)

A fluff article about "Old Bingham", including a print of a Shipler photo of the lower terminal station of the Highland Boy aerial tramway at Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 4, May 30, 1903, p.15)

A news item, from the Price Advocate newspaper, about an electric "road" from Cisco to Moab to LaSal Mining District by "capitalists" from Portland, represented by M. H. Krebel of Salt Lake City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 5, June 15, 1903, p.30)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 6, June 30, 1903)

The sale of the portion of the OSL south of Salt Lake City to the SPLA&SL was "closed" on July 7, 1903. Payment was $10-11 million. Included in the deal was equipment needed to operate the line. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 1, April 30, 1903, p.18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 8, July 30, 1903)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 9, August 15, 1903)

The grading for Utah Copper's concentrating plant began "last week". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 10, August 30, 1903, p.28)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 11, September 15, 1903)

The Tintic area shipped 108 cars of ore during the week ending September 18, 1903. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 12, September 30, 1903, p.35)

The SPLA&SL was to build a spur to the Honerine Mining Company's concentrating plant at Buhl, near Terminus. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 13, October 15, 1903, p.30)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 14, October 30, 1903)

C. D. Rooklidge, of Salt Lake City, obtained a lease on the RGW tramway between Alta and Sandy. He was to reconstruct and equip the line for electric operation, at a cost of $100,000.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 15, November 15, 1903, p.23)

There was an article in the Los Angeles Mining Review, circa November 14, 1903, about the Salt Lake Valley smelter of United States Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 16, November 30, 1903, p.21)

(Volume 5, number 17 missing)

Jesse Knight held the rights of way in Hobble Creek Canyon, having surveyed the canyon for a railroad "several years ago". The surveyors of the Moffat Road were in the same canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 18, December 30, 1903, p.30)

The Lower Mammoth mine at Mammoth was shipping 100 carloads daily. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 19, January 15, 1904, p.15)

Good photograph, by C. R. Savage, of the American Falls, Idaho power plant. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 20, January 30, 1904, p.19)

News item about the locomotive that was to be used in the construction of the Tonapah railroad being repaired by the Virginia & Truckee, and was to be delivered at Sodaville on February 20, 1904. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 21, February 15, 1904, p.15)

News item about the Silver Brothers Iron Works building a new building on 4th West between 6th and 7th South, to repair railroad locomotives. They currently had "the" Copper Belt locomotive in for derailment repairs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 21, February 15, 1904, pp.33,34)

News item about the Newhouse Extension of the Frisco Branch being surveyed. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 22, February 29, 1904, p.36)

A short biography of Nicholas Treweek. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 23, March 15, 1904, pp.15,16)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 5, number 24, March 30, 1904)

Volume 6 (1904/1905)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 1, April 15, 1904)

News item about Samuel Newhouse and his building of the Newhouse and Cactus mine and mill. $100,000.00 was to be spent for the railroad extension. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 2, April 30, 1904, p.20)

Samuel Newhouse paid $99,688.65 to the SPLA&SL for the construction of the Newhouse Extension, including the terminal at the Cactus Mine, near the mouth of Copper Gulch. The railroad was seven miles in length. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 2, April 30, 1904, p.36)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 3, May 15, 1904)

Article about the Utah Copper mill at Bingham, with photograph by Shipler. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 4, May 30, 1904, p.13)

Article about the re-equipping of the Utah Light & Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 5, June 15, 1904, p.13)

There was a "smelter special issue" of the Los Angeles Mining Review on May 28, 1904, with photographs of smelters in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 5, June 15, 1904, p.24)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 6, June 30, 1904)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 7, July 15, 1904)

Article about the "Salt Lake Route" in California, with photographs of the major California stations. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 8, July 30, 1904, p.19)

News item about Utah Fuel furnishing Anaconda in Montana with 100-200 tons of coke daily, from Sunnyside. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 8, July 30, 1904, p.30)

RGW had let the contract for the extension of the Marysvale Branch to Cedar City and to connect with the SPLA&SL. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 8, July 30, 1904, p.30)

J. G. Jacobs was to build an electric railway between Salt Lake City and Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 9, August 15, 1904, p.31)

The grading of the Newhouse Extension was begun, with work on grade to the Cactus mine commencing at mouth of Copper Gulch. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 10, August 30, 1904, p.31)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 11, September 15, 1904)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 12, September 30, 1904)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 13, October 15, 1904)

Article about Alta, with photograph of "horse tramway" and brief mention of railroad service to Alta. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 14, October 30, 1904, pp.16,17)

News item about Camp Newhouse. The Newhouse Extension was being graded between Newhouse and the Cactus mine, with four and a half percent grade and three mile length. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 14, October 30, 1904, p.23)

The Copper Belt railroad hauled 35,000 tons during October 1904. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 15, November 15, 1904, p.31, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 16, November 30, 1904)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 17, December 15, 1904)

Article about Samuel Newhouse's enterprises at Newhouse, with two photographs of the Cactus Mill at Newhouse. A 65-ton Shay (spelled "Chay") locomotive was used to "steady" trains of side dump cars down the four percent grade from the Cactus mine to the mill, three miles from the mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 18, December 30, 1904, p.15) The Newhouse, Copper Gulch & Sevier Lake Railroad had been incorporated. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 18, December 30, 1904, p.21)

Article describing the SPLA&SL line between Milford and Caliente. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 18, December 30, 1904, p.19)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 19, January 15, 1905)

Article about the copper producers of Bingham, with photograph of Utah Copper's mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 20, January 30, 1905, p.21)

Article about the Copper Belt railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 21, February 15, 1905, pp.17,18)

Article about Nevada-Utah Mines & Smelters Incorporated being incorporated in Maine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 22, February 28, 1905, p.25)

Cactus mill into partial operation during "first of last week". Into full operation on March 30, 1905. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 22, February 28, 1905, p.25)

Article about the SPLA&SL line between Caliente and Las Vegas, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 23, March 15, 1905, pp.17-21) Photograph of SPLA&SL 4-6-2 locomotive without smokestack, bell, or domes. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 23, March 15, 1905, p.23)

Article about the Searchlight district in Nevada, with photograph of narrow gauge tracks. No mention of railroad service. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 23, March 15, 1905, p.24)

Articles about the mining machinery houses in Salt Lake City, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 6, number 24, March 30, 1905, pp.17-20) (Good photographs of eastern Salt Lake City.)

Volume 7 (1905/1906)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 1, April 15, 1905)

News item about the surveying of a new six-mile railroad between the Utah Copper mine and its Copperton mill, with two and a half percent grades. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 2, April 30, 1905, p.19)

Photograph of steam "traction engine", with freight wagons. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 3, May 15, 1905, p.51)

Article about Salt Lake City and Utah, with photographs. Photograph of Upper Mammoth on page 21. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 4, May 30, 1905, pp.19-22)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 5, June 15, 1905)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 6, June 30, 1905)

News item about Utah Light & Railway getting steel poles for its route along Brigham Street (today's South Temple Street) from Minneapolis Steel & Machinery. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 7, July 15, 1905, p.31)

The RGW spur to the Eagle & Blue Bell mine at Eureka was almost complete. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 8, July 30, 1905, p.30)

News item about the RGW low grade line in Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 8, July 30, 1905, p.31)

Article about Bingham, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 9, August 15, 1905, pp.19-21)

News item about RGW letting the contract to build the Garfield Extension. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 9, August 15, 1905, p.31)

Article about the mineral wax mine at Soldiers Summit, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 10, August 30, 1905, pp.19,20)

Utah coal production for 1904 was 1,493,027 short tons, $1,943,440.00, 1,374 men employed. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 10, August 30, 1905, p.30)

Article about the smelter fume problem, with general information on the smelters of Salt Lake valley. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 11, September 15, 1905, p.19)

George Dern was the manager of the Consolidated Mercur mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 11, September 15, 1905, p.28)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 12, September 30, 1905)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 13, October 15, 1905)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 14, October 30, 1905)

Colorado & Denver Cement Company was to erect a plant at Croydon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 15, November 15, 1905, p.30)

The first steam shovel for Boston Consolidated was ordered from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. The shovel was to be the first in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 16, November 30, 1905, p.30)

There were 113 cars billed out of the Tintic area by RGW "last week". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 17, December 15, 1905, p.34)

Article about Newhouse Mines & Smelters, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 17, December 15, 1905, pp.19-27)

Drawing of Fairbanks-Morse gasoline motor car. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 18, December 30, 1905, p.20)

The output of the Scranton mine was shipped to Iola, Kansas. The shipments were loaded at Del Monte station of SPLA&SL's Boulter Branch. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 19, January 15, 1906, p.24)

Article about pioneer engine building in Utah, with drawing of lake boat "Kate Conner". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 20, January 30, 1906, p.19)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 21, February 15, 1906)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 22, February 28, 1906)

Union Portland Cement Company was incorporated to build at Croydon, Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 23, March 15, 1906, p.30)

There were 3,450 men employed by Salt Lake valley smelters, with a payroll of $2,484,000.00 annually, processing about 5,000 tons of ore and flux daily. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 7, number 24, March 30, 1906, p.21)

Volume 8 (1906/1907)

Article about Union Portland Cement Company at Croydon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 1, April 15, 1906, p.24)

News item about Boston Consolidated ordering fifty cars from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 1, April 15, 1906, p.33)

Utah Copper ordered a standard gauge steam shovel, fifty K&J dump cars, and three Davenport locomotives, all from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 2, April 30, 1906, p.30)

The Nevada Northern was under construction. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 2, April 30, 1906, p.40)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 3, May 15, 1906)

Article about Alta, with photograph taken on "old Alta tramway". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 4, May 30, 1906, pp.17-21)

Searchlight & Northern had been partially graded. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 4, May 30, 1906, p.23)

The first steam shovel used in Utah was of Vulcan make, and was used at the Cactus group near Newhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 5, June 15, 1906, p.27)

Salt Lake City Railroad ordered six freight cars from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 5, June 15, 1906, p.28)

The articles of incorporation for the Pioche & Caliente Railroad were filed "last week". The company was organized by J. Ross Clark and W. H. Bancroft. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 5, June 15, 1906, p.31)

Utah Copper was to install a 95-ton Vulcan steam shovel "very soon". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 5, June 15, 1906, p.32)

The Garfield smelter was to start operations "this week". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 5, June 15, 1906, p.32)

Article about Eureka. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 6, June 30, 1906, pp.19-21)

Trackage for the steam shovel at Boston Consolidated had been completed. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 6, June 30, 1906, p.41)

Utah Copper had ordered a locomotive from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 7, July 15, 1906, p.32)

Boston Consolidated had ordered forty 7-ton ore cars from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 7, July 15, 1906, p.32)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 8, July 30, 1906)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 9, August 15, 1906)

News item about the agreement between American Smelting & Refining Company, Utah Copper Company, and Boston Consolidated, with RGW to build the Garfield Extension. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 10, August 30, 1906, pp.28,29)

A Utah Construction Company steam shovel, working on the "skyline" at Bingham, hit copper ore. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 11, September 15, 1906, p.39)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 12, September 30, 1906)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 13, October 15, 1906)

Photograph of a steam traction engine with a train of freight wagons. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 14, October 30, 1906, p.24)

News item about the proposed Utah & Nevada Railroad, to be built between Salt Lake City, Ely, and Tonapah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 15, November 15, 1906, p.26)

News item about Utah Construction Company buying twelve saddletank locomotives to be used in the construction of the Western Pacific. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 16, November 30, 1906, p.32)

SPLA&SL was to build a Tintic to Deep Creek extension. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 16, November 30, 1906, p.33)

Nicholas Treweek was manager of the Big Cottonwood Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 16, November 30, 1906, p.33)

News item about ore from the Valo mine being shipped to the RGW depot at Heber, to be shipped to the United States smelter at Murray. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 16, November 30, 1906, p.39)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 17, December 15, 1906)

Map of Nevada showing the mines and railroads. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 18, December 30, 1906, p.24)

Editorial about losing the Salt Lake valley smelters. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 18, December 30, 1906, p.26)

News item, from the Bingham Bulletin newspaper, about the Shay locomotives for the Copper Belt and Boston Consolidated. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 18, December 30, 1906, p.38)

News item about Boston Consolidated ordering sixty "steam shovel" cars from S. G. Shaw & Company of Denver. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 19, January 15, 1907, p.30)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 20, January 30, 1907)

Notice of the incorporation of the Eureka Hill Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 21, February 15, 1907, p.28)

Map of Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 22, February 28, 1907, p.23)

Shipler photograph of Utah Copper mill at Magna, under construction. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 23, March 15, 1907, p.21)

Photograph of the original mine of Utah Copper Company at Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 23, March 15, 1907, p.)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 8, number 24, March 30, 1907)

Volume 9 (1907/1908)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 1, April 15, 1907)

Map of Nevada. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 2, April 30, 1907, p.22)

Description of tour of Frisco and Newhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 2, April 30, 1907, pp.25,26)

Article about the Bingham Canyon mines that were about to open, including Utah Copper and Boston Consolidated, with mention of the Copper Belt railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 2, April 30, 1907, p.40)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 3, May 15, 1907)

News item about the Tintic smelter site being graded and the Eureka Hill Railway being surveyed, with most of the needed land already purchased. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 4, May 30, 1907, p.39)

News item about the aerial tramway to Tannersville in Little Cottonwood Canyon being in operation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 5, June 15, 1907, p.33)

Article about Silver Brothers Iron Works, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 6, June 30, 1907, p.22)

News item about Union Portland Cement Company's plant at Croydon having started up on "Tuesday" (June 25, 1907). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 6, June 30, 1907, p.31)

News item about the purchase of the Grass Creek mines and the Grass Creek Terminal Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 7, July 15, 1907, p.33)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 8, July 30, 1907)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 9, August 15, 1907)

Article about Alta, past, present and future, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 10, August 30, 1907, p.19)

Article about Ophir and Stockton, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 11, September 15, 1907, p.19)

News item about A. W. McCune, of Salt Lake City, receiving a concession from the government of Peru to build a 250 mile railroad from Huacho to Ucayoli. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 12, September 30, 1907, p.27)

Article about American Fork Canyon, with photographs. "One car of bullion shipped on railroad." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 13, October 15, 1907, p.19)

Description of the incorporation laws of Arizona. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 13, October 15, 1907, p.25)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 14, October 30, 1907)

Article about the mines of the Tintic District, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 15, November 15, 1907, p.19)

Article about the Grand Central mine, at Tintic. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 15, November 15, 1907, p.20) Correction about the aerial tramway at the Grand Central mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 16, November 30, 1907, p.31)

News item about David Eccles purchasing 1,040 acres of coal lands from Grass Creek Coal Company to furnish fuel for the Amalgamated Sugar Company in Ogden. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 15, November 15, 1907, p.38)

News item about Consolidated Fuel having completed a survey for a railroad between its coal lands and the RGW at Price. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 16, November 30, 1907, p.33)

News item about the coal from the Aberdeen mine of Independent Coal & Coke being shipped to Price by way of wagons and teams. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 16, November 30, 1907, p.39)

News item about the Grass Creek coal mines being sold to David Eccles, who was to incorporate a new company to operate the mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 16, November 30, 1907, p.40)

News item about Red Diamond automobiles being built by Auto Manufacturing & Supply Company, at 545 South State Street in Salt Lake City, Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 17, December 15, 1907, p.42)

Article about Consolidated Fuel Company, and the building of a proposed railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 18, December 30, 1907, p.39)

Cartoon about the smelter smoke problem. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 19, January 15, 1908, p.20)

News item about Silver Brothers Iron Works building side dump railroad cars for Utah Copper. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 19, January 15, 1908, p.26)

News item about the Day-Judge mine in Park City installing electric haulage. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 20, January 30, 1908, p.30)

News item about Silver Brothers Iron Works building the bicycle track building at Saltair. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 21, February 15, 1908, p.25)

Article about Tintic Smelting Company, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 22, February 29, 1908, p.19)

Advertisement for Silver Brothers Iron Works, showing a side dump railroad car. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 22, February 29, 1908, p.34)

Comments in an article about the Gilsonite in Uintah County saying that Jesse Knight was to build a railroad to connect with the Denver, Northwestern & Pacific. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 23, March 15, 1908, p.17)

Article about the Ohio mill at Lark. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 23, March 15, 1908, p.18)

Drawing of a simple mine headframe and ore crusher over an ore bin. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 9, number 24, March 30, 1908, p.17)

Volume 10 (1908/1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 1, April 15, 1908)

News item about the Tintic smelter being completed on June 1, 1908, with smelting contracts signed with the Grand Central, Lower Mammoth, Horn Silver (at Frisco), and Jesse Knight's Colorado, Iron Blossom, Black Jack, and Swansea mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 2, April 30, 1908, p.38)

F. C. Richardson Machinery Company sold ten 25-ton cars to the Eureka Hill Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 3, May 15, 1908, p.31)

Article about the consolidation of the Swansea and the South Swansea mines at Tintic, under the control of Jesse Knight. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 3, May 15, 1908, p.32)

The Dalton & Lark mill at Bingham was to open in about thirty days. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 3, May 15, 1908, p.33)

A news item, from the Eureka Reporter newspaper, said that "another Shea engine" for the Eureka Hill Railway arrived "Monday" (May 11, 1908). The new locomotive came in over the RGW. Another had "arrived some time ago", and was to be used to switch the yards and smelter and the new locomotive was to be used to bring the ore from the mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 3, May 15, 1908, p.38)

A news item, from the Price Advocate newspaper, said that surveyors for the Southern Utah Railroad were at work around Miller Creek. A bond for $300,000.00 had been sold. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 3, May 15, 1908, p.38)

Article about the railroad traffic out of Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 4, May 30, 1908, p.19)

Article about the railroad traffic for Cedar City, from Lund. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 4, May 30, 1908, p.21)

Article about coal mining in Utah in 1907. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 4, May 30, 1908, p.28)

Article about Union Portland Cement Company at Devils Slide, with photograph. The plant opened "last season". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 5, June 15, 1908, p.23)

News item about the first ore being processed in the new Tintic smelter having come from the Silver Shield mine in Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 5, June 15, 1908, p.28)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 6, June 30, 1908)

Article about the Tintic smelter and its completion, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 7, July 15, 1908, pp.15-20)

List of properties owned by Jesse Knight. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 7, July 15, 1908, p.20)

News item about the incorporation of the Bingham & Garfield Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 7, July 15, 1908, p.29)

Article about Bingham Canyon, "Tearing Down Mountains At Bingham", with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 8, July 30, 1908, pp.15-18)

Article about the Independent smelter at Ogden, Utah, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 9, August 15, 1908, pp.15-18)

News item about Utah Fuel Company furnishing coke to smelters in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 10, August 30, 1908, p.30)

News item about the first product, lead bullion, from the new Tintic smelter, produced on August 29, 1908, being given to Jesse Knight. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 11, September 15, 1908, p.20)

Article about Ely, Nevada, with photograph of trains in early open pit operations at Nevada Consolidated Copper mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 12, September 30, 1908, p.15)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 13, October 15, 1908)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 14, October 30, 1908)

Article about Boston Consolidated's concentrator mill, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 15, November 15, 1908, pp.15-18)

News item about Salt Lake Hardware's new warehouse being partially complete. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 15, November 15, 1908, p.27)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 16, November 30, 1908)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 17, December 15, 1908)

Article about Utah's mineral deposits. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 18, December 30, 1908, pp.15-20)

News item about the opening of Jumbo Plaster & Cement Company's new plant. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 19, January 15, 1909, p.29)

News item about the beginning of grading of the Tooele Valley Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 20, January 30, 1909, p.26)

Article about Bingham Canyon, with photographs of aerial tramways. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 21, February 15, 1909, pp.18,19)

News item about the construction of the OSL/SPLA&SL Salt Lake City depot. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 21, February 15, 1909, p.24)

Article about the early history of Bingham Canyon mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 22, February 28, 1909, pp.18,19)

Article about the current Utah mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 22, February 28, 1909, p.20)

Article with information about aerial tramways. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 22, February 28, 1909, p.23)

Article about the Consolidated Mercur mine, with photograph (by Shipler) of the mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 23, March 15, 1909, pp.15-17)

News item about the shutdown and closing of Newhouse Mines & Smelters mine and mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 23, March 15, 1909, p.20)

News item about materials for the Salt Lake & Ogden coming from Capital Electric. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 23, March 15, 1909, p.25)

Article about the mill of Ohio Copper Company at Lark, with photographs by Shipler. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 24, March 30, 1909, pp.15-17)

Drawing of a Smith brand cement mixer. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 10, number 24, March 30, 1909, p.26)

Volume 11 (1909/1910)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 1, April 15, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 2, April 30, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 3, May 15, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 4, May 30, 1909)

Article about the Tintic smelter at Silver City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 5, June 15, 1909, pp.17-20)

Photograph of Yampa smelter in Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 6, June 30, 1909, p.17)

(Volume 11, number 7 missing)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 8, July 30, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 9, August 15, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 10, August 30, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 11, September 15, 1909)

Article about Inland Crystal Salt Company, with photograph of plant. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 12, September 30, 1909, p.17)

Article about a new Utah & Nevada Railroad, bound for the Deep Creek country. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 12, September 30, 1909, p.31)

"Description of the Yampa Smelter, at Bingham", article about Yampa smelter at Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 13, October 15, 1909, pp.17-20) (copied 10/21/94)

"Coal Mining In Emery County", article, from the Advocate of Price, about coal mining in Emery County. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 13, October 15, 1909, p.23) (copied 10/21/94)

Article about a ride over the Western Pacific. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 14, October 30, 1909, pp.23-25)

News item about South Utah Mines taking over the Newhouse mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 14, October 30, 1909, p.30)

News item about South Utah Mines & Smelters, formerly Newhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 15, November 15, 1909, p.33)

News item about Castle Valley Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 15, November 15, 1909, p.39)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 16, November 30, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 17, December 15, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 18, December 30, 1909)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 19, January 15, 1910)

Article about coal mines at Coalville, including Weber Coal Company, Union Coal Company, and Reese Grass Creek Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 20, January 30, 1910, p.29)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 21, February 15, 1909)

Article about Ogden Portland Cement Company, twenty miles north of Ogden, five miles south of Brigham City, on the OSL., with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 22, February 30, 1910, p.23)

"Utah As A Coal Producing State", article about the potential of coal mining in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 23, March 15, 1910, pp.19-23) (copied 10/21/94)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 11, number 24, March 30, 1910)

Volume 12 (1910/1911)

List of active mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 1, April 15, 1910, pp.38,39)

Article about Utah Copper Bingham mill, with photographs. The new mill operations will save enough money to pay for construction and equipment of the Bingham & Garfield Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 2, April 30, 1910, pp.21,22)

News item about Consolidated Fuel production to reach 2,000 tons per day, by winter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 3, May 15, 1910, p.37)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 4, May 30, 1910)

Article about Portland Cement Company of Utah, with photographs by Shipler. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 5, June 15, 1910, p.17)

News item about the Salt Lake Route being back in operation on June 11, 1910. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 5, June 15, 1910, p.31)

News item about Utah Construction Company purchasing a Marion shovel for use in the construction of the Bingham & Garfield. Dealer for the shovel was the Harris Brothers of Salt Lake City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 5, June 15, 1910, p.33)

News item about Independent Coal & Coke purchasing controlling interest in Citizens Coal Company in Salt Lake City to have a retail outlet for its Kenilworth brand coal. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 6, June 30, 1910, p.34)

Article with description of the survey of the Iron Mountain, St. George & Grand Canyon Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 7, July 15, 1910, p.20)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 8, July 30, 1910)

Photographs of International smelter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 9, August 15, 1910, p.18)

Photograph of Morgan, Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 10, August 30, 1910, p.22)

News item about Independent Coal & Coke building a depot at Spring Glen. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 10, August 30, 1910, p.38)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 1, September 30, 1910)

"The Independent Coal & Coke Company", article about Independent Coal & Coke Company, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 12, September 30, 1910, pp.17-21) (copied 10/26/82)

News item about the Iron Blossom mine shipping twenty car loads per week, being Jesse Knight's best producer. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 12, September 30, 1910, p.40)

Article about the aerial tramway of Utah Consolidated. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 13, October 15, 1910, p.18)

News item saying that the Tintic smelter at Silver City may go into commission again in the near future. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 13, October 15, 1910, p.32)

"Utah Copper Without a Peer", article taken from a letter to the New York News, written by E. N. Skinner. In part, saying that about forty percent of the grading for the Bingham & Garfield was completed. The road was to be completed by "next July". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 14, October 30, 1910, p.21) (copied 10/26/82)

"The Castle Valley Coal Co.", article describing the Castle Valley Coal Company for investors. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 14, October 30, 1910, p.40) (copied 10/21/94)

News item about the first annual meeting of the South Utah Mines & Smelters Company. The company was the reorganized Newhouse Mines & Smelters. Samuel Newhouse, credited with the largest block of shares, was elected as a director upon the resignation of L. A. Kramer. Newhouse had not been officially connected with the company prior to this. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 15, November 15, 1910, p.32)

News item saying that the Bingham & Garfield was about seventy percent graded, with the connection between Magna and Garfield about ninety percent graded. All track materials were on hand. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 15, November 15, 1910, p.37)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 16, November 30, 1910)

Article about an inspection trip of Utah's electric railroads and electric power plants. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 17, December 15, 1910, pp.15-19)

Article about the construction of oil storage tanks for Continental Oil Company at 6th West and 2nd South in Salt Lake City, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 17, December 15, 1910, p.22)

News item about the Eureka & Palisades Railroad in Nevada being sold under foreclosure to George W. Heintz of United States Smelting, Refining & Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 17, December 15, 1910, p.30)

News item about the Southern Utah Railroad purchasing a Chicago Pneumatic 8x8 air compressor and air tools from Richmond Machinery Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 17, December 15, 1910, p.31)

News item about the Consolidated Fuel Company shipping 1,200 to 1,300 tons per day, and the Castle Valley Coal Company shipping 600 to 700 tons per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 17, December 15, 1910, p.38)

Article, with photographs of Utah Metals Tunnel, between Middle Canyon in Tooele and Carr Fork in Bingham. Photograph shows an electric mine locomotive. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 18, December 30, 1910, pp.15-17) (The portal of this tunnel was in Middle Canyon, and was not served by any railroad spur.)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 19, January 15, 1911)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 20, January 30, 1911)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 21, February 15, 1911)

Article about the Jordan Power Plant of Utah Light & Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 22, February 28, 1911, pp.15-18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 23, March 15, 1911)

News item about Consolidated Fuel buying 1,500 acres of coal lands, bringing its holdings to over 3,000 acres. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 12, number 24, March 30, 1911, p.32)

Volume 13 (1911/1912)

"Success Of The Consolidated Fuel Co.", article about Consolidated Fuel, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 1, April 15, 1911, pp.17-20) (copied 10/26/82)

News item about a feud between Jesse Knight and the D&RG Railroad over deliveries of coal and coke to his Tintic smelter. All business was going by way of the SPLA&SL. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 1, April 15, 1911, p.30)

Article about the Centennial-Eureka mine, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 2, April 30, 1911, p.17)

"Description Of Bingham & Garfield R.R.", article about the Bingham & Garfield Railway, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 3, May 15, 1911, pp.17-20) (copied 10/26/82)

"Business Men Examine Hiawatha Mines", article about Consolidated Fuel, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 4, May 30, 1911, pp.15-18) (copied 10/26/82)

News item about the Bingham & Garfield Railway soon to begin operations. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 4, May 30, 1911, p.21)

News item about South Utah Mines & Smelters shipping 70 tons of ore per day to the Tooele smelter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 4, May 30, 1911, p.33)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 5, June 15, 1911)

"The Castle Valley Coal Company", article about Castle Valley Coal, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 6, June 30, 1911, pp.15-18) (copied 10/26/82)

Article about Utah Copper, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 7, July 15, 1911, pp.13-15)

News item about W. A. Clark owning the United Verde mine in Arizona. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 7, July 15, 1911, p.28)

Article about the Ballard & Thompson Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 8, July 30, 1911, p.36)

"Utah Copper Report", article about the annual report of Utah Copper. The grading of the Bingham & Garfield was completed on June 1, 1911. Track was laid across the Dry Fork bridge on July 14, 1911, with the delay caused by high winds. The Garfield Branch was completed and track laid during the first half of August 1911. The grading for the Bingham yards was to be completed by August 1, 1911. Locomotives were shipped in mid July, and were to arrive soon, allowing operations to begin during August 1911. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 9, August 15, 1911, p.18)

"Description of South Utah Mine & Mill", article describing South Utah Mines & Smelters at Newhouse, with photographs (same photographs used in the earlier Newhouse article, including the view of the Shay pushing loads up the trestle). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 10, August 30, 1911, p.13)

News item stating that Milan Packard died on August 28 1911. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 11, September 15, 1911, p.29)

News item about the Bingham & Garfield opening for traffic. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 12, September 30, 1911, p.21)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 13, October 15, 1911)

(Saturday Evening Post of November 11, 1911 had an article about Jesse Knight.)

Article about the "new" Walker Bank building in Salt Lake City, with architect's drawing, and photographs of the new building, along with the original Walker Brothers building and an early view of the site for the new building. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 14, October 30, 1911, pp.15,16)

"Railroads And Steam Shovels", article about the construction of the Copper Belt railroad and other RGW lines around Bingham Canyon, by H. C. Goodrich, presented at the regular monthly meeting of the Utah Society of Engineers. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 14, October 30, 1911, pp.18,19) (copied 10/26/82)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 15, November 15, 1911)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 16, November 30, 1911)

Article about the Nevada Copper Belt Railroad, with photographs. W. C. Orem was president and general manager. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 17, December 15, 1911, pp.12-14)

T. J. Biuin, who directed construction of the Bingham & Garfield, will direct the construction of the Prince Consolidated Railroad in Pioche. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 18, December 30, 1911, p.20)

Item about Black Hawk coal mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, Number 18, page 16)

News item about James H. Mays buying the Orem family interests in Castle Valley Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 19, January 15, 1912, p.23)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 20, January 30, 1912)

News item about American Fuel Company arranging for the equipment of its mine at Ballard, including building an eight mile railroad to connect with D&RGW. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 21, February 15, 1912, p.20)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 22, February 28, 1912)

"New Railroads For Eastern Utah Coal Fields", article about the proposed expansion of the Kenilworth & Helper, and the proposed Utah Coal Railway, with map of proposed routes. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 23, March 15, 1912, pp.16,17) (copied 10/26/82)

"The Thompson & Ballard Railroad". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 23, March 15, 1912, p.23)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 13, number 24, March 30, 1912)

Volume 14 (1912/1913)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 1, April 15, 1912)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 2, April 30, 1912)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 3, May 15, 1912)

News item about the Knight smelter in Tintic being shutdown. The Knight railroad (Eureka Hill Railway) was still in operation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 4, May 30, 1912, p.28, "Around the State")

"Coal Deal Consummated", news item about the United States Smelting, Refining & Mining paying $1.2 million for controlling interest in Consolidated Fuel on June 1, 1912, along with half interest in Southern Utah Railroad. USSR&M purchased 800,000 shares of Consolidated Fuel at $1.50 each. Properties controlled by USSR&M ("the Sharp interests") included Consolidated Fuel (the Hiawatha mine), the Black Hawk mine, and Castle Valley Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 5, June 15, 1912, pp.19,20)

"Report of the Silver King Coalition Mines Company", article about the Silver King mine, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 6, June 30, 1912, pp.11-13)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 7, July 15, 1912)

"The Portland Cement Company of Utah", article about Portland Cement Company at 9th South in Salt Lake City, with photographs by Shipler. Exterior photograph is heavily retouched. The plant was built in 1910, and was supplied from a quarry in Parleys Canyon via the D&RG Park City Branch using short bodied National dump cars, each with a 50-ton capacity. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 8, July 30, 1912, p.11)

"Railroad Day at Ophir", article about the completion of the St. John & Ophir Railroad, with photographs. Railroad was 8.6 miles long. Grading began on March 15, 1912 and the railroad was completed on July 24, 1912. Grades varied between two and seven percent. The first four miles used 52-pound rail, with the remainder using 60-pound rail. The railroad used fourteen degree curves. The railroad owned one locomotive and one combination baggage coach. The railroad was owned by W. A. Clark, who also owned the Ophir Hill Consolidated mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 9, August 15, 1912, pp.11-15)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 10, August 30, 1912)

"Utah Oil Refining Company", article about the Salt Lake City refinery of Utah Oil Company, with photographs. Photograph of plant shows UP Salt Lake City roundhouse in background. The plant was begun in 1909 on a quarter acre of land, with an output of thirty barrels per day. Article written by L. O. Howard. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 11, September 15, 1912, pp.11,12)

News item about the miners in Bingham Canyon being on strike, shutting down the Magna, Salt Lake City, and Tooele mills and smelters. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 12, September 30, 1912, p.23)

"Utah Coal Road Construction". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 12, October 15, 1912, p.25)

"American Ozkerite Company", article about the mineral wax mine at Soldiers Summit, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 13, October 30, 1912, p.11)

News item about the South Utah Mines & Smelters being closed due to a strike. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 13, October 30, 1912, p.33, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

"The Chief Consolidated Mining Co.", article about the Chief Consolidated mine, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 14, November 15, 1912, p.11)

Photographs of Utah Sampling plants. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 14, November 15, 1912, p.15)

News item about the strike being settled. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 14, November 15, 1912, p.23)

"The International Lead Smeltery - I", article about the International smelter at Tooele, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 15, November 15, 1912, pp.11,12)

"Car Shortage Hinders Work at Tintic", news item about car shortage for Tintic mines. Some mines had to stop work due to their ore bins being full, with no cars to ship ore in. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 15, November 15, 1912, p.16)

"Electrification of the Rio Grande". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 16, November 30, 1912, p.20)

News item about South Utah Mines & Smelters Cactus mine shipping ore to smelters, with 50,000 tons on hand. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 16, November 30, 1912, p.30, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item about Park City mines shipping 206 cars in October (7,445 tons). UP took 5,416 tons and D&RG took 2,027 tons. The big shippers were Silver King Coalition, Daly-Judge, and Daly-West. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 16, November 30, 1912, p.32, "Around the State")

"Solving the Transportation Problem", with photograph of Intermountain Transportation Company trucks, by Utah Photo Materials Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 17, December 15, 1912, p.16)

"Report of Utah Copper". Bingham & Garfield hauled 10,203 tons of copper ore per day, plus 928 tons per day of other freight, for the quarter, down from 1,265 tons per day for the previous quarter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 17, December 15, 1912, p.20)

Photographs of Park City mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 18, December 30, 1912, pp.9-12)

Photograph of Arthur mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 18, December 30, 1912, p.13)

Photograph of Bingham mine, by Shipler. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 18, December 30, 1912, pp.14,15)

Photographs of Tintic mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 19, January 15, 1913, p.18)

News item about D&RG planning to rebuild the Alta Branch. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 19, January 15, 1913, p.35, "Construction Notes")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 20, January 30, 1913)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 21, February 15, 1913)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 22, February 28, 1913)

"Passing of an Old Landmark", article about the scrapping of the Midvale smelter of the Bingham Mines Company. Opened in 1901 at a cost of $1 million. Closed in 1907 due to smoke litigation (December 26, 1907). Sold to Utah Junk Company. Plant to be dismantled by N. Rosenblatt & Sons Company, which also dismantled the Highland Boy smelter and the old Jordan steam electric power plant of Utah Light & Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 23, March 15, 1913, p.28)

News item about J. G. Jacobs planning to build a railroad up Little Cottonwood Canyon, from Sand Pit to Wasatch. (Salt Lake & Alta Railroad). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 14, number 24, March 30, 1913, p.32, "Around the State")

Volume 15 (1913/1914)

"The End of Con-Mercur", article about the shut down of Consolidated-Mercur mine at Mercur. The company was organized in July 1900. The mine and mill closed on March 30, 1913. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 1, April 15, 1913, p.26)

(The last run of the Salt Lake & Mercur Railroad was on October 18, 1913. This from an unavailable thesis about L. L. Nunn, owner of Telluride Power Company, which furnished electric power to the Mercur mine. This thesis was examined under the supervision of Grant Pendleton, then Public Relations Director for Utah Power & Light.)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 2, April 30, 1913)

News item about Independent Coal & Coke Company planning to build a new steel tipple, and to change from steam power to electric power. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 3, May 15, 1913, p.35, "Trade Notes")

"Great Showing at Eagle & Blue Bell". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 4, May 30, 1913, p.11)

"The Romance of a Famous Gold Mine - I", photographs of Consolidated Mercur mine and mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 5, June 15, 1913, p.13)

"BA&P Railway Electrified", with drawing and photographs of Butte, Anaconda & Pacific Railway box cab electric locomotive. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 5, June 15, 1913, p.21)

News item about Consolidated Mercur mine planning to pay a three-cent per share dividend, as income from final clean-up and sale of machinery. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 5, June 15, 1913, p.31, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

"The Spring Canyon Coal Company", article about Spring Canyon Coal Company, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 6, June 30, 1913, pp.9-12) (copied 10/21/94)

"The Romance of a Famous Gold Mine - II", photographs of Consolidated Mercur mine and mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 6, June 30, 1913, p.13)

News item about the D&RG car shops in Salt Lake City being destroyed by fire. Located between Fifth and Sixth West, and Fourth and Fifth South. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 6, June 30, 1913, p.30)

News item about Utah Consolidated Stone Company building a stone cutting plant in Salt Lake City. The company had completed a three mile railroad grade to Little Cottonwood Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 7, July 15, 1913, p.28, "Mine and Smelter Building")

News item about Standard Coal Company letting a contract to build a three and a half mile railroad from Storrs to its mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 7, July 15, 1913, p.30, "Around the State")

"Mining Operations In The Alta District", article about Alta, with photographs and a map of the district. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 8, July 30, 1913, p.9)

"Shipments From Tintic District", list of mines in Tintic and number of cars shipped from January to June 1913. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 8, July 30, 1913, p.28)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 9, August 15, 1913)

News item about the Yampa smelter in Bingham having been built in 1904. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 10, August 30, 1913, p.34, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 11, September 15, 1913)

"Nevada-Utah Reorganization", news item about the Nevada-Utah Mines & Smelters being reorganized as Consolidated Nevada-Utah Corporation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 12, September 30, 1913, p.17)

News item about the Surprise Valley Railroad being incorporated in Utah. The railroad was to run from Reynard on the Western Pacific to Surprise Valley in northwestern Nevada and northeastern California. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 12, September 30, 1913, p.33, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Article about asphalt, with photographs of loading asphalt rock at Sunnyside and paving streets in Salt Lake City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 13, October 15, 1913, pp.16,17)

News item about Utah Consolidated Stone Company, which had the contract to furnish the stone for the new state capitol building, purchasing the twenty-five acres in Midvale formerly occupied by the Bingham Consolidated Mining & Smelting Company. The property was held for some time by N. Rosenblatt & Sons Company. The property still contained cranes, hoists, boilers, engines, and other machinery, and was to be manned by a force of 150 stone cutters to produce 500 cubic feet of cut and dressed stone for the capital building per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 13, October 15, 1913, p.38, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

"Eureka's Early days", news item about a letter from 1883 telling about Eureka during 1870. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 14, October 30, 1913, p.32)

"The Bingham Mines of the U. S. Company", article about the Bingham mine of the United States Mining Company, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 15, November 15, 1913, pp.11-13)

"The Silver King Coalition Mines", article about the Silver King mine in Park City, with photographs. Silver King Coalition Mines was incorporated on May 20, 1907. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 16, November 30, 1913, pp.11-18)

News item about the completion of the Salt Lake & Alta Railroad, completed "to the doors of the Wasatch Hotel, up the canyon." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 16, November 30, 1913, p.28, "Around The State")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 17, December 15, 1913)

Photographs of Utah Oil Refinery warehouse, across tracks from UP's Salt Lake City roundhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 18, December 30, 1913, pp.11-13)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 19, January 15, 1914)

News item about Utah Consolidated Stone Company shipping two car loads (sixty tons) of finished granite per day for construction of the new state capital building. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 20, January 30, 1914, p.27, "Around The State")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 21, February 15, 1914)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 22, February 28, 1914)

Photograph of granite block in quarry in Little Cottonwood Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 23, March 15, 1914, p.11)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 15, number 24, March 30, 1914)

Volume 16 (1914/1915)

"The Cameron Coal Mines", article about the Cameron Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 1, April 15, 1914, p.28) (copied 10/21/94)

"Operations Of The Standard Coal Company", article about the Standard Coal Company, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 2, April 30, 1914, pp.13-19) (copied 10/21/94)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 3, May 15, 1914)

"Tintic District Has Been A Producer For Forty Five Years", article, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 4, May 30, 1914, pp.11-17)

News item about the mill of South Utah Mines & Smelters closing, with twenty men being retained for development work. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 5, June 15, 1914, p.30, "Around The State")

"The Utah Consolidated Stone Company", article with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 6, June 30, 1914, p.13-16) (copied 10/21/94)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 7, July 15, 1914)

Photograph, by Shipler, of Bingham Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 8, July 30, 1914, p.11)

"Operations Of Utah Copper", article, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 8, July 30, 1914, p.12-19) (copied pages 16,17, plus two others, on 2/7/84)

"The Book Cliffs Coal Field, Utah", article about several coal mines in Carbon and Emery counties, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 9, August 15, 1914, pp.18-25) (copied 10/21/94)

News item about Utah Construction Company working on two fills on the Kenilworth & Helper Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 9, August 15, 1914, p.28, "Coal Notes and Personals")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 10, August 30, 1914)

"The Garfield Plant of the Garfield Smelting Company", article with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 11, September 15, 1914, p.14)

News item about South Utah mine and mill being closed due to a cloud burst that broke an air pipe between the power plant and the mine, and washed out parts of the railroad between the mine and the mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 11, September 15, 1914, p.35, "Around the State")

"Murray Plant of the American S&R Co.", article with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 12, September 30, 1914, p.11)

News item saying that the new steel tipple for the Black Hawk Coal Company at Black Hawk was to be put into commission on October 20, 1914. Its stated capacity was 3,000 tons every eight hours. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 13, October 15, 1914, p.22, "Coal Notes and Personals")

"New Coal Road Completed", from Salt Lake Tribune newspaper. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 14, October 30, 1914, p.21, "Coal Notes And Personals") (copied 10/21/94)

News item about E. S. Rolapp, of Ogden, being the president and manager of Cameron Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 15, November 15, 1914, p.29, "Personal Mention")

News item about the Spring Canyon Coal Company producing 1,000 tons per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 16, November 30, 1914, p.17, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the tipple of the Black Hawk Coal Company having been put into commission. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 16, November 30, 1914, p.17, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about Standard Coal Company "recently" installing a Manierre box car loader for egg coal. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 16, November 30, 1914, p.17, "Coal Notes and Personals")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 18, December 30, 1914)

Advertisements for the major mining companies. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 19, January 15, 1915, pp.16-26)

"Beaver County Production And Developments". South Utah operated until the war cut off demand for copper in August 1914. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 19, January 15, 1915, p.53)

"The Coal Industry Of Utah", article about coal mining in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 19, January 15, 1915, pp.62,63) (copied 10/21/94)

News item about Oregon Short Line adding six stalls to its Salt Lake City roundhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 20, January 30, 1915, p.28, "Mine and Smelter Building")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 21, February 15, 1915)

"A Great Tunnel Enterprise for Tintic Mining District", article about Tintic district, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 22, February 28, 1914, p.7)

"Salt Lake & Alta Railroad", article. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 22, March 15, 1915, p.26) (copied 10/21/94)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 23, March 15, 1915)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 16, number 24, March 30, 1915)

Volume 17 (1915/1916)

Drawing of an early cement mixer, "Little Wonder Five". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 1, April 15, 1915, p.7)

"Report Of United States Co.", article about the annual report of United States Smelting, Refining & Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 1, April 15, 1915, pp.21,22) (copied 10/21/94)

Photograph of employees of The Gallager Machine Company, in company yard. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 2, April 30, 1915, p.6)

Advertisement for Knox tractors, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 3, May 15, 1915, p.8)

Photograph of Chief-Consolidated power house at Eureka. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 4, May 30, 1915, p.12)

Photograph of a salt drier, mounted on a wagon, built by Western Heating & Sheet Metal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 5, June 15, 1915, p.6)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 6, June 30, 1915)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 7, July 15, 1915)

Advertisement for Allis Chambers tractor truck, with treads, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 8, July 30, 1915, p.8)

"Utah Section of A.I.M.E. Makes a Visit to Tintic", with photograph of party on board two cars of Eureka Hill Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 8, July 30, 1915, p.11)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 9, August 15, 1915)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 10, August 30, 1915)

"Railroad To Alta", article about proposed railroad to Alta. Walter K. Yorston, general contractor, issued a prospectus for "Cottonwood Transportation Company". To build a 24-inch gauge railroad between Wasatch and Alta for the purpose of hauling ore. The company had secured a lease and a bond to the right of way of the former horse tramway. The average grade to Alta was 7-1/2 percent. Estimated cost of the new line was $55,00.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 11, September 15, 1915, p.28)

(There was two Volume 17, number 11 issues. To compensate, Volume 17, number 21 was not published.)

Photograph of Castle Gate Coal Company tipple. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 11(2nd), September 30, 1915, p.11)

News item about the "Alta-Cottonwood Railroad" being incorporated. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 11(2nd), September 30, 1915, p.25)

News item about Utah Copper ordering six six-wheel locomotives from American-Pittsburgh. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 11(2nd), September 30, 1915, p.31, "Trade Notes")

News item about the town of Black Hawk changing its name to Hiawatha "about a month to six weeks ago." (September 1915). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 12, October 15, 1915, p.21, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the Salt Lake & Alta hauling 2,014 tons in August 1915 from the Wasatch terminal, and 2,987 tons in September 1915, compared to less than 200 tons a year before. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 13, October 30, 1915, p.18, "In The Alta-Cottonwoods")

News item about Alta-Cottonwood Transportation stockholders making an inspection of the proposed route. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 13, October 30, 1915, p.18, "In The Alta-Cottonwoods")

News item about the Carbon Fuel Company planning to have its railroad in commission "in a few days." The first coal shipments were to be made on November 10, 1915. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 13, October 30, 1915, p.19, "Coal Notes and Personals")

Article about South Utah Mines being back in operation on October 1, 1915. Between September 1, 1910 and June 30, 1912 the mine produced 5,527,810 pounds of copper, 43,693 ounces of silver, and 2,450 ounces of gold. Between July 1, 1912 and September 30, 1912, the mine produced 674,987 pounds of copper. The mine was closed due to a strike from October 1, 1912 to April 1913. Between April 1913 and June 1914, when the mine closed again, the mine produced 3,294,113 pounds of copper. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 13, October 30, 1915, p.21, "South Utah Mines")

(The Bingham & Garfield was hauling about 16,000 to 17,000 tons per day.)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 14, November 15, 1915)

Photograph of C. L. Best Tracklayer treaded tractor, with trailers. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 15, November 30, 1915, p.3)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 16, December 15, 1915)

"Interurban For Bingham". Harry S. Joseph was granted a franchise by Salt Lake County for an electric line between Salt Lake City and Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 17, December 30, 1915, p.21)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 18, January 15, 1916)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 19, January 30, 1916)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 20, February 15, 1916)

(Volume 17, number 21 not published because there were two issues for Volume 17, number 11.)

Advertisement for a Buick truck. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 22, February 29, 1916, p.7)

News item about Salt Lake & Utah purchasing a 50-ton electric locomotive from Westinghouse, to be delivered in September 1916. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 22, February 29, 1916, p.27)

Advertisement for White truck. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 23, March 15, 1916, p.7)

"Railroad For Uintah County", news item about a proposed D&RG line into the Uintah basin, from Colton. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 23, March 15, 1916, p.30)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 17, number 24, March 30, 1916)

Volume 18 (1916/1917)

News item about a representative of Utah Copper having just returned from a two week study of electric railroad operations on the Butte, Anaconda & Pacific and Milwaukee Road in Montana. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 1, April 15, 1916, p.33, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Work")

News item about the representative of Utah who made a study of electric railroad operations in Montana being much impressed by the products of General Electric. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 1, April 15, 1916, p.34, "Trade Notes")

News item about Promontory Development & Transportation Company having been incorporated to build a railroad from Saline station on the Southern Pacific to the Promontory Point zinc district, about six miles. Incorporators included: W. W. P. Twist, W. H. Burnside, R. S. Milbee, all of Salt Lake City, and R. A. Moyes, along with "others of Ogden". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 2, April 30, 1916, p.32)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 3, May 15, 1916)

News item about Walter K. Yorston having a force of twenty men working on the grade for the new railroad between Alta and Wasatch in Little Cottonwood Canyon, with "steel to be laid within 10 days." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 4, May 30, 1916, p.39, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item in which A. P. Apperson, vice president of United States Fuel, stating that his company had purchased a McKeen motor car to ply between Price and the company's coal mines in eastern Utah, for the benefit of the company's employees. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 5, June 15, 1916, p.18, "Coal Notes and Personals")

"Officially The Salt Lake Route", news item about the San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake changing its name, with comments about the San Pedro name. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 5, June 15, 1916, p.22)

News item about Oregon Short Line giving the contract for the expansion of the Brigham City yards to Utah Construction Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 5, June 15, 1916, p.33)

Article about the Rocky Mountain Coal Mining Institute meeting in Carbon County, with photographs of Carbon County coal mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 6, June 30, 1916, pp.17-21)

Advertisement for a GMC truck. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 7, July 15, 1916, p.6)

News item about Walter K. Yorston stating that twenty-seven men were working on the grade of the proposed railroad into the Alta camp. Shipping contracts have been signed with many of the mining companies. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 7, July 15, 1916, p.23, "In The Alta-Cottonwoods")

News item saying that the directors of the Bingham & Garfield were considering electrification. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 8, July 30, 1916, p.32, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Work")

(There was company by the name of Mammoth Oil & Asphaltum Company.)

"Ohio Copper Reorganization", article about the reorganization of the Ohio Copper Company, including the Bingham Central Railway tunnel from Bingham to Lark. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 9, August 15, 1916, p.29)

News item about the Bingham & Garfield receiving its order of 100-ton ore cars. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 9, August 15, 1916, p.33, "Mine, Mill, and General Construction Work")

News item about Oregon Short Line installing a block signal system between Cache Junction, Utah and McCammon, Idaho. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 9, August 15, 1916, p.33, "Mine, Mill, and General Construction Work")

News item about San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake installing a block signal system between Salt Lake City and Lynndyl. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 9, August 15, 1916, p.33, "Mine, Mill, and General Construction Work")

"New Milling Plant of Big Four Exploration at Park City", article about a company processing the mineral flats of Silver Creek at Atkinson on Union Pacific's Park City Branch, about seven miles north of Park City, with photographs. Equipment included two 14-ton "dinkey" narrow gauge steam locomotives. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 10, August 30, 1916, pp.31-16)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 11, September 15, 1916)

"Salt Lake & Alta Railroad", article. Ties and rails had been delivered. The "Shea" locomotives were "on their way." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 12, April 15, 1916, p.)

Map of Park City mining district, showing the Crescent tramway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 13, October 15, 1916, p.17)

"Knox Tractors To Haul In Big Cottonwood", article, with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 13, October 15, 1916, pp.23,24)

"Railroad Assured For The Deep Creek District". (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 13, October 15, 1916, pp.28,29)

News item about Salt Lake & Utah completing a right of way and traffic survey into the San Pete Valley via Nephi, Fountain Green, Manti, and Salina. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 13, October 15, 1916, p.32, "Mine, Mill and general Construction Work")

News item about Davis, Howe & Company of Salt Lake City constructing the steel cars to be used on the 36-inch gauge railroad that was being constructed in Little Cottonwood Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 13, October 15, 1916, p.33, "Trade Notes")

"Progress of Alta Railroad", article. The first mile had been completed. The Shay locomotive would be used as soon as the track was ballasted. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 14, October 30, 1916, p.31)

News item about the contract for the construction of the Deep Creek railroad having been let to Utah Construction Company. Grading had already commenced. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 14, October 30, 1916, p.34, "Trade Notes")

News item about three tractors hauling ore from the Cardiff mine in Big Cottonwood Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 14, October 30, 1916, p.37, "Around The State")

"Canyon Roads Are Bad", news item about the South Hecla mine in Little Cottonwood Canyon having 4,000 tons of smelter ore stored throughout the mine, awaiting better transportation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 14, October 30, 1916, p.38)

"Motor On Alta Railroad", article about a "motor on wheels" having been purchased to aid in the construction. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 15, November 15, 1916, p.24)

News item about the Los Angeles & Salt Lake enlarging their Milford roundhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 15, November 15, 1916, p.33, "Trade Notes")

Photograph of Tintic smelter. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 16, November 30, 1916, p.17)

News item about the D&RG announcing that they would build a depot in Sugar House, beginning in the spring, at a cost of $10,000.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 16, November 30, 1916, p.32, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

News item about the D&RG and Western Pacific announcing plans to build a joint freight house on Fourth West between Second and Third South, at a cost of $200,000.00. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 16, November 30, 1916, p.33, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

News item about F. C. Richmond Machinery Company selling 13,750,000 pounds of 60-pound rail (about 65 miles) to the Deep Creek Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 16, November 30, 1916, p.33, "Trade Notes")

News item about the Deep Creek Railroad, saying that during the previous week the grading and laying of ties had reached a point about thirty miles south of Wendover. Laying of rails had commenced and would reach twenty miles by December 1, 1916. There were four construction camps. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 16, November 30, 1916, p.37, "Around The State")

News item about Utah Construction Company having been awarded the contract to build the Western Pacific's Tooele Branch. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 17, December 15, 1916, p.34, "Trade Notes")

"Deep Creek Railroad", article. The promoter and builder of the railroad was Captain Duncan MacVichie. The railroad was to be completed by January 5, 1917, grading had reached to within a mile of Gold Hill, twenty miles of rail had been laid. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 18, December 30, 1916, p.17)

Photograph of Bingham & Garfield train on a bridge. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.1)

News item about the construction on the Little Cottonwood Transportation Company being completed to within a mile of Tanner's Flat, and work being halted due to the weather. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.14, "In The Alta-Cottonwoods")

Photograph of Bingham Canyon, by Shiplers. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.21)

Photograph of Utah Copper's Arthur mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.22)

News item about LeGrand Young receiving a franchise from Salt Lake County to build an electric interurban railroad into Big Cottonwood and Little Cottonwood canyons. The line was to go first to the Knudsen Mill at the mouth of Big Cottonwood Canyon, and must reach there within one year. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.54 in ad section, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

News item about Bingham & Garfield stock being increased to $10 million to finance electrification, which was to be done at a later date. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 19, January 15, 1917, p.56 in ad section, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item about the Salt Lake Garfield & Western taking over the Saltair Beach Company for $200,000, to allow for the issuing of $600,000 in railroad bonds. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 20, January 30, 1917, p.32, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

News item about the decision for the electrification of the Bingham & Garfield being before the board of directors. Electrification was not to be done for at least six months due to unavailability of electrical components from General Electric. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 20, January 30, 1917, p.34, "Trade Notes")

Article about the Deep Creek Railroad being built by the interests of Western Utah Copper Company, which included Duncan MacVichie, Harold R. Smoot, and Edwin T. Jones, who were also the treasurer, president, and vice president of Goodwin Townsite, which was the location of the depot, post office, and business district of the area known as the Gold Hill Post Office. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 21, February 15, 1917, p.18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 22, February 28, 1917)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 23, March 15, 1917)

"Deep Creek Railroad Open", article. The first ore shipments from Gold Hill (Goodwin) were made in the middle of March 1917. Duncan MacVichie, president of the railroad, was also president and general manager of Western Utah Copper Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 18, number 24, March 30, 1917, p.28)

Volume 19 (1917/1918)

News item about the Utah Ore Sampling Company closing its plant in Park City due to the larger plant in Murray going into operation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 1, April 15, 1917, p.33)

News item about Tintic Standard mine opening negotiations with D&RG for the construction of a branchline to serve the mine. The use of trucks was an alternative. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 1, April 15, 1917, p.39, "Mine, Mill, and General Construction Notes")

News item about the Salt Lake Route contracting with the Houghton Construction Company of San Francisco for the construction of thirty steel and concrete bridges. A workforce of 150 men was to be required and the project was to be headquartered at Milford. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 1, April 15, 1917, p.40, "Trade Notes")

"Move Roadbeds of Railroads", article about the LA&SL and the WP bringing condemnation proceedings against J. L. Wilson for right of way in Garfield for the relocation of their lines due to Utah Copper expanding its tailings pond. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 1, April 15, 1917, p.43)

Advertisement for Kelley trucks. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 2, April 30, 1917, p.9)

"Deep Creek Train Service", article about the beginning of passenger service during mid April 1917. The railroad was handling tonnage from the mines of the Deep Creek District and sheep from Erickson's Ranch, where switch tracks and stock yards had been installed. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 2, April 30, 1917, p.30)

News item about the Deep Creek Railroad handling 350 tons per day from Western Utah Copper, the Copperopolis, the Woodman, the Pole Star, and the Wilson Brothers mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 2, April 30, 1917, p.35, "Around The State")

News item about six "dummy" steam locomotives of the Bamberger line being sold for scrap to Utah Junk Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 2, April 30, 1917, p.37, "Trade Notes")

"Alta Line In Operation", article about the Little Cottonwood Transportation Company going into commission between Wasatch and Tanners on April 21, 1917. The line was being operated with a five ton gasoline engine, with the Shays to be used upon their arrival at Alta. Construction began in the spring of 1916. The line used 10.8 percent grades. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 2, April 30, 1917, p.42)

"Big Indian Truck Equipment", article about the Big Indian Copper Company, located five miles east of Moab and five miles south of LaSal, starting to use Clintonville Four Wheel Drive trucks to haul ore sixty-eight miles between their mine and mill, and Crescent on the D&RG, with photograph. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 3, May 15, 1917, p.26)

News item about the Western Utah Copper Company shipping 200 tons per day over the Deep Creek Railroad. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 3, May 15, 1917, p.40, "Around The State")

"American Potash To Make More Fertile Fields", article about the potash plant of Florence Mining & Milling Company at Marysvale beginning operation on April 21, 1917. Construction began in April 1916. The company built its own 2,000 foot spur from D&RG's Marysvale Branch. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 4, May 30, 1917, p.23)

News item about Little Cottonwood Transportation beginning to haul ore from Tanners on May 16, 1917, from the tramway of the Michigan-Utah mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 4, May 30, 1917, p.43, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 4, June 15, 1917)

News item about the important shippers of Alta meeting to discuss transportation problems. They decided to use tractor machines if the railroad situation did not improve. The Emma Consolidated mine planned to purchase three tractors. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 6, June 30, 1917, p.37, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

"Little Cottonwood Transportation", article about Pearson Engineering Company building a narrow gauge railroad from Wasatch to Alta. A major problem was how to get the ore from Wasatch to the smelters at Midvale. D&RG and the present operators of the line (Salt Lake & Alta Railroad?) have made promises but taken no action. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 6, June 30, 1917, p.41)

Article about the Clifton Mining District at Goldhill, Utah. The Deep Creek Railroad is mentioned on page 25. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 7, July 15, 1917, pp.21-26)

Photograph of Minnesota Steel & Machinery Company, at 220-224 West South Temple. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 7, July 15, 1917, p.35)

News item about W. K. Yorston resigning his position with Pearson Engineering. He was being replaced by W. B. Elwood. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 7, July 15, 1917, p.38, "Engineers and Millmen")

"Official Mining Directory", list of active mining companies. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 8, July 30, 1917, pp.52,53)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 9, August 15, 1917)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 10, August 30, 1917)

News item about the D&RG "taking over" the Salt Lake & Alta. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 11, September 15, 1917, p.43, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Article about Peerless Coal Company, describing the yard and tipple then under construction. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 12, September 30, 1917, p.28)

News item about the Salt Lake & Utah interurban ("The Orem Line") proposing to extend its line from Payson to Eureka. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 12, September 30, 1917, p.38)

News item about C. M. Levey and T. J. Wyche, president and chief engineer of Western Pacific Railroad, visiting the Deep Creek Railroad, causing reports that WP planned to take over the Deep Creek line and extend it to Ely, Nevada. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 13, October 15, 1917, p.37, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

News item about Walter K. Yorston planning to build a three and a half mile electric railroad line from the Conger Spur to the Fortuna mine in Bingham. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 13, October 15, 1917, p.42, "Engineers and Millmen")

News item about the incorporation of the Aberdeen Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 13, October 15, 1917, p.46)

"Giant Crusher for Utah Copper", article about the new crusher at the Arthur mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 14, October 30, 1917, p.30)

News item about the Wasatch Coal property of Ontario Silver Mining Company at Coalville to be reopened, with heavier rails to be laid. Production was to begin in December 1917. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 14, October 30, 1917, p.43, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item about the first open hearth steel to be poured in Utah being at Utah Iron & Steel at Midvale. The pour was done on November 1, 1917 and consisted of 65,000 pounds. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 15, November 15, 1917, p.38, "Trade Notes")

"Utah Copper Quarterly Report", article. The Bingham & Garfield hauled an average of 32,019 tons of ore per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 16, November 30, 1917, p.27)

News item about Peerless Coal Company's yard being about half completed. The company expected to be shipping in the latter part of January 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 16, November 30, 1917, p.35, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about two locomotives and 1,200 cars of the Utah Coal Route being in storage awaiting start-up of service on December 1, 1917. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 16, November 30, 1917, p.35, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the Wattis Coal Company constructing two miles of standard gauge railroad. Upon completion of the railroad, the tipple at the mine was to be built. The company expected to be shipping in March 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 16, November 30, 1917, p.35, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the fifth locomotive of the Utah Railway being put into service on December 9, 1917. The sixth locomotive was received "a few days ago", and was to be put into service soon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 16, December 15, 1917, p.27, "Coal Situation")

News item about the grading being started on a new railroad from Delta, north twenty-two miles to the Deseret Mining District, and south forty-eight miles to Kanosh, via Fillmore. W. H. Brereton, president of State Bank of Provo, was a director. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 18, December 30, 1917, p.36, "Mine, Mill and General Construction Notes")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 19, January 15, 1918)

News item about the new two mile spur of Weber Coal Company's Wasatch mine, east of Coalville, having been completed by the Christensen Construction Company, who had been engaged in the work for the past three months. The coal mine was controlled by the Bamberger interests and was a subsidiary of the Ontario Silver Mining Company, of which J. E. Bamberger was president. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 20, January 30, 1918, p.40, "Around The State")

(J. E. Bamberger was Simon Bamberger's brother.)

News item about the Mammoth Mining Company considering an aerial tramway from its mine to the D&RG line at Mammoth due to poor service by the LA&SL, which had charged $7,500.00 for moving 40,000 tons in 840 cars over the two mile New East Tintic Railway (47.6 tons per car). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 20, January 30, 1918, p.40, "Around The State")

"Western Utah Copper Dividend", article. The Deep Creek Railroad had shipped 200 tons per day from the Western Utah Copper mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 21, February 15, 1918, p.28)

News item about the Utah Coal Route shipping 600 carloads of coal per week, mostly to Pacific coast points. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 21, February 15, 1918, p.35)

News item about the Weber coal mine, near Coalville, being owned by the Ontario Silver Mining Company. The mine was to go into production on March 1, 1918. The mine was clear of water and the old drifts had been cleared out. The mine had been developed to a depth of 900 feet. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 21, February 15, 1918, p.44, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Photograph of Utah Copper's Arthur mill. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 22, February 28, 1918, p.21)

News item about the Peerless Coal Company planning to go into production on April 15, 1918. President was C. N. Sweet. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 23, March 15, 1918, p.36)

News item about the Salt Lake, Fillmore & Kanosh Railroad being incorporated in Provo. Capitalization was $500,000 (5,000 shares at $100.00 each). George W. Craig of Provo was president and W. S. McCornick was a director. The route was to be a standard gauge, steam railroad from Lynndyl to Kanosh, via Holden, Fillmore, and Meadow, about fifty miles, with a twenty-five mile branch from Lynndyl into the Dugway Mining District. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 23, February 28, 1918, p.38, "Mine, Mill and General Construction News")

News item about Wattis Coal Company making the first trip over its surface tram on March 18, 1918. A two mile spur from Utah Railway was to be completed on April 10, 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 24, March 30, 1918, p.33, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about Independent Coal & Coke Company having a new mine opening, which was being served by a new one mile tram, on which a Shay was being used. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 19, number 24, March 30, 1918, p.33, "Coal Notes and Personals")

Volume 20 (1918/1919)

Biographical note about James A. Cunningham (of New East Tintic Railway). He was born in 1842 in Quincy, Illinois and came to Utah in an ox-cart party in 1848. He had five children, of which James, Jr. was the oldest. Cunningham died in late March 1918 at age 76. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 1, April 15, 1918, p.33)

Advertisement for FWD trucks, with photograph of six trucks at the Tintic Standard smelter. Six FWD trucks were used to haul ore 5.4 miles to the tipple at Ironspen, each hauling 8,000 to 10,000 pounds per load. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 1, April 15, 1918, p.45)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 2, April 30, 1918)

News item mentioning the Summit Fuel Company at Coalville. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 3, May 15, 1918, p.35, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the Pacific Steamship Company of California purchasing the mines of American Fuel Company at Sego, Utah. The mine was producing 800 tons per day, but that figure was to be doubled. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 3, May 15, 1918, p.35, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about Tintic Milling Company, near Silver City, processing about 200 tons of ore per day from the Dragon, Iron Blossom, and Colorado mines. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 3, May 15, 1918, p.41, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item about George H. Dern selling his interest in the Tintic Milling Company, near Silver City, to Jesse Knight. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 4, May 30, 1918, p.27)

News item about the Little Cottonwood Transportation Company being open for business in the middle of May 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 4, May 30, 1918, p.38)

News item about the South Hecla mine at Alta shipping 500 tons during the previous week. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 4, May 30, 1918, p.41, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

Advertisement for Bingham & Garfield Railway, with schedule. Train number 109 left Salt Lake City at 6:55 am and arrived at Bingham at 8:25 am. Train number 110 left Bingham at 8:45 am and arrived at Salt Lake City at 10:05 am. Train number 111 left Salt Lake City at 2:15 pm and arrived at Bingham at 3:35 pm. Train number 112 left Bingham at 4:00 pm and arrived at Salt Lake City at 5:40 pm. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 5, June 15, 1918, p.59)

News item about surveyors of Colorado Fuel & Iron Company being at work in the vicinity of Cedar City, Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 6, June 30, 1918, p.38, "Mine, Mill and General News")

News item about the South Hecla at Alta shipping a car load of ore per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 6, June 30, 1918, p.41, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

News item in which W. K. Yorston stated that Chicago and Salt Lake City interests had underwritten $750,000 in bonds for the construction of a railroad between Lund and Cedar City. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 7, July 15, 1918, p.39, "Mine, Mill and General Construction News")

News item about United States Fuel shipping about 100,000 tons of coal per month to the northwest and California, Honolulu, and South Africa. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 8, July 30, 1918, p.30, "Coal Notes and Personals)

News item about Spring Canyon Coal Company building a surface tramway, which was to be in service by about October 1, 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 8, July 30, 1918, p.30, "Coal Notes and Personals")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 9, August 15, 1918)

News item from the manager of Little Cottonwood Transportation Company, Shand Smith, stating that the railroad was building a 300 foot spur from Alta to the ore loading bins of the Columbus-Rexall mine. Shay locomotives (note plural) were being used on the line. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 10, August 30, 1918, p.48, "Around The State")

News item showing coal production figures for Carbon County coal mines during August 1918: Cameron Coal Company at Castle Gate produced 12,000 tons; Carbon Fuel Company at Rains produced 25,000 tons; Independent Coal & Coke Company at Kenilworth produced 35,000 tons; United States Fuel produced 128,500 tons; American Fuel Company at Neslen produced 15,905 tons. Liberty Fuel at Latuda was shipping 500 tons per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 11, September 15, 1918, p.30, "Coal Notes and Personals")

"Michigan-Utah Strike", article. Michigan-Utah Consolidated was shipping 100 tons per day. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 11, September 15, 1918, p.38)

Photograph of Independent Coal & Coke Company at Kenilworth. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 12, September 30, 1918, p.21)

News item stating that Utah produced no coal of record until 1870, during which 5,800 tons were produced. In 1916 production for Utah was 3,567,428 tons. Production for Colorado was 10,484,237 tons, and production for Wyoming was 17,910,647. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 12, September 30, 1918, p.31, "Coal Notes and Personals")

Ore from the Alta district had not moved over the D&RG's Wasatch Branch for twelve days. The main difficulty was poor track. The South Hecla mine at Alta had 600-700 tons of ore waiting at Wasatch for movement. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 13, October 15, 1918, p.42, "Dips, Spurs and Angles")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 14, October 30, 1918)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 15, November 15, 1918)

Photograph of Utah Oil Refining Company, taken from the west, showing the UP roundhouse. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 16, November 30, 1918, pp.20,21)

News item about the mine of the Inland Fuel Company being located in Carbon County, with its tipple being located at Thompson on the D&RG. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 16, November 30, 1918, p.30, "Coal Notes and Personals")

News item about the South Hecla mine at Alta shipping 1,600 tons in October 1918. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 16, November 30, 1918, p.41, "Around The State")

News item about the incorporation of the Cache Valley Railroad in Ogden. Organizers were J. M. Eccles, M. A. Browning, J. Scowcroft, C. A. Boyd, and J. H. DeVine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 17, December 15, 1918, p.36, "Mine, Mill and General Construction News")

News item saying that the second lot of electric passenger cars ("motors") for the Salt Lake, Garfield & Western had been commandeered by the government. The end of the war would allow the electrification to be completed by the next summer. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 17, December 15, 1918, p.37, "Trade Notes")

News item about operations over the Little Cottonwood Transportation Company being suspended until spring. Repairs on the engines and cars was to be done during the winter months. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 18, December 30, 1918, p.23)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 19, January 15, 1919)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 20, January 30, 1919)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 21, February 15, 1919)

News item saying that the construction of an electric Soldiers Summit-Strawberry railroad was to begin in the spring. An agreement had been signed between the railroad and Utah Power & Light. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 22, February 28, 1919, p.36, "Mine, Mill and General Construction News")

News item saying that construction was assured of a railroad to Morrissey in Beaver County to serve the Utah Sulphur Corporation. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 22, February 28, 1919, p.37, "Mine, Mill and General Construction News")

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 23, March 15, 1919)

"New Railroad in Iron County", article about a new line between Lund and Cedar City to serve the Old Capital Petroleum Fuel & Iron Company. Organizers included A. Meeker, Jr., president and J. J. McClellan, secretary treasurer. Directors included Dr. C. F. Wilcox, Dr. E. D. Woodruff, and George W. Morgan. J. U. Eldredge was general manager. Contractor was to be Hanover Construction of Philadelphia. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 24, March 30, 1919, p.23)

"East Tintic to Have a Railroad", article about the Goshen Valley Railroad. To be built by Utah Construction Company to overcome a long haul by auto-trucks from the Tintic Standard mine. Officers were E. J. Raddatz, president, C. E. Loose, of Provo, vice president, and W. I. Snyder, secretary. Raddatz was also the manager of the Tintic Standard. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 20, number 24, March 30, 1919, p.28)

Volume 21 (1919/1920)

(not examined)

Volume 22 (1920/1921)

(not examined)

Volume 23 (1921/1922)

(not examined)

Volume 24 (1922/1923)

(not examined)

Volume 25 (1923/1924)

(not examined)

Volume 26 (1924/1925)

(not examined)

Volume 27 (1925/1926)

News item about the organization of the Alta-Wasatch Tramway, an aerial tramway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 1, April 15, 1925, p.9)

News item saying that the Eureka Hill Railway "might" be purchased by Union Pacific. The railroad was "said to have cost $55,000 per mile to build." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 1, April 15, 1925, p.15)

News item about George Watson (of Alta) being a stock broker, established in 1904. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 1, April 15, 1925, p.26)

News item about George Watson being president and general manager of the Emma mine at Alta. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 2, April 30, 1925, p.20)

News item about the Iron Blossom mine being sold to the Tintic Standard on April 16, 1925. E. J. Raddatz was manager of the Tintic Standard. The Iron Blossom mine was organized by Jesse Knight. The Colorado mine was also organized by Jesse Knight. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 2, April 30, 1925, p.21)

News item about ore from the Emma and Columbus-Rexall mines at Alta being hauled by wagons and teams. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 3, May 15, 1925, p.19)

News item about International Smelting buying the Addie Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 4, May 30, 1925, p.18)

News item about Tintic Standard buying the Colorado Consolidated mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 4, May 30, 1925, p.18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 5, June 15, 1925)

News item about the final six miles of the National Coal Railroad being completed "in the next few days." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 6, June 30, 1925, p.18)

News item about the town of Storrs changing its name to Spring Canyon. Also that the Spring Canyon Coal Company had completed a new tipple. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 6, June 30, 1925, p.18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 7, July 15, 1925)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 8, July 30, 1925)

Article about the Utah Ore Sampling plant at Murray. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 9, August 15, 1925, p.9)

News item about the Iron King selling 1,000 tons of ore as a trial shipment to Columbia Steel. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 10, August 30, 1925, p.21)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 11, September 15, 1925)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 12, September 30, 1925)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 13, October 15, 1925)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 14, October 30, 1925)

News item about United States Smelting, Refining & Mining Company buying the Godiva mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 15, November 15, 1925, p.11)

Article? about the history of the Link Belt Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 15, November 15, 1925, p.17)

Article about the closing of the Ophir Hill Consolidated mine "at the end of the month." (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 16, November 30, 1925, p.14)

News item about Utah Construction Company grading the second track for Union Pacific between Gateway and Echo. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 16, November 30, 1925, p.15)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 17, December 15, 1925)

News item mentioning George Watson being president and general manager of Alta Merger Mines Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 18, December 30, 1925, pp.17,18)

Advertisements of mining and smelting companies. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 19, January 15, 1926, pp.8-15)

Summary of the mines in Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 19, January 15, 1926, pp.19,20)

List of mines in the Tintic District, and car loads shipped during 1925. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 19, January 15, 1926, p.25)

Article about the tramway of the Park Consolidated mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 20, January 30, 1926, p.13)

News item about Utah Railway wanting to take over the National Coal Railway. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 20, January 30, 1926, p.21)

Article about the Midvale smelter of United States Smelting, Refining & Mining Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 21, February 15, 1926, p.11)

News item about the first train into Wells, Nevada on February 15, 1926 (over the new UP branch from the north?). (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 22, February 30, 1926, p.18)

News item mentioning Marriner A. Browning as president of Lion Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 23, February 28, 1926, p.14)

Article about the report of the Park Consolidated mine. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 24, March 30, 1926, p.14)

Article about the new tipple for Consumers Mutual Coal Company. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 27, number 24, March 30, 1926, p.15)

Volume 28 (1926/1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 1, April 15, 1926)

News item about the Utah Copper Company beginning tests which might result in the electrification of the entire rail system. Two locomotives had been ordered. One, which was to arrive within ninety days, was to be a 300 horsepower diesel-electric, with a cost of $65,000, and which was to handle sixty tons. The other was to be a combination storage battery and trolley locomotive which was to handle seventy-five tons, with a cost of $50,000. The two machines were to be operated for a one year period against each other for checking efficiency. They were to be used on the J and K striping lines for the tests. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 2, April 30, 1926, p.17, "Around The State")

News item about Consumers Mutual Coal Company planning to build a new steel bridge to connect its two mines on each side of the canyon. The bridge was to be built by the American Bridge Company with a capacity of two Utah Railway Mallet locomotives, with sixty loaded cars. Cost was to be $60,000. Morrison Knudsen had the contract for the grading work for the new yard and the concrete work for the base of the new bridge and trestle. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 2, April 30, 1926, p.18, "Trade and Construction Notes")

"Ingersoll-Rand Lands Order For Oil-Electric Locomotive at U.C.", news item. The locomotive was a 60-ton oil electric. Utah Copper had fifty-seven steam locomotives. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 3, May 15, 1926, p.13)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 4, May 30, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 5, June 15, 1926)

"New Railroad in Utah...", article about the National Coal Railway., with a distant photograph of a Utah Railway Mallet locomotive pushing cars up Gordon Creek Canyon. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 6, June 30, 1926, p.15)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 7, July 15, 1926)

"Iron Ore Production by Utah Iron Ore Corporation...", with photographs of the loading tipple at Desert Mound, Utah. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 8, July 30, 1926, p.9)

"Utah Copper's Electrifying Plans...", newspaper interview with Jackling while he was in Salt Lake City. Both test locomotives were in service. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 9, August 15, 1926, p.10)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 10, August 30, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 11, September 15, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 12, September 30, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 13, October 15, 1926)

"National Coal Railway Pays Dividend". In operation for eleven months. Paid a ten percent dividend. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 14, October 30, 1926, p.20)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 15, November 15, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 16, November 30, 1926)

"New...Plant for Consumers Mutual Coal Co.", with photographs. (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 17, December 15, 1926, p.18)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 18, December 30, 1926)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 19, January 15, 1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 20, January 30, 1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 21, February 15, 1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 22, February 28, 1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 23, March 15, 1927)

[Issue examined, no information found] (Salt Lake Mining Review, Volume 28, number 24, March 30, 1927)

###